Undefeated swim team ready for county meet

first_imgMid’town swim club team more than 200 strong BY WARREN RAPPLEYEA Staff Writer The Middletown Swim & Tennis Club’s swim team will be looking to complete an undefeated campaign in the Monmouth County Swim Conference on Saturday when it hosts Candlewood. Coach Lyne Cefalo’s swimmers have scored triumphs over Hazlet, Monmouth Heights, Marlboro, Holmdel and, most important, Freehold, historically one of the conference’s top teams. The success runs throughout the program. There are now more than 200 swimmers in the program — 60 more than a year ago — the bulk in the 8-year-old and under category. As a result, practices are broken up into four groups and fortunately, Cefalo has several assistant coaches, most of whom also compete in the 15-18-year-old division. “We’ve almost doubled our team and it’s great to see so many kids involved,” the ninth-year coach said. “It seems like a lot of our swimmers just told their friends and encouraged them to come out. Last year’s Olympics also generated a lot of interest. That’s really helped swimming become a more popular sport. Once the kids get in the water they tend to like it.” Speaking of Olympics, Cefalo also noted that it doesn’t hurt that former U.S. Olympic swimmer Tom Wilkens is a member and is frequently at the club. “We have a great club with a great atmosphere, and it’s a nice place to spend time at,” Cefalo said. “There’s always something happening.” Some of the Middletown club’s top competitors include: (8 & under) Vinnie Cinko, Charlie Ciraollo, Natallie Heim, McKenna Johnson, Megan Loh, Paul Reterer, Skylar Shafritz and Richie Trentalang; (9-10) Tate Algayer, Joshua Atienza, Sydney Cloff, Marirose Fitzpatrick, Erica Nagase, Andrew Rooney, Chris Smith and Brian Tucker. In the 11-12 age group: Ryan Andresen, Julia Bland, Abigail Hofman, Lauren Homack, Julia Reimertz, Dean Shafritz, Matt Shaw, Anastasia Shekhter, Andrew Smith and Chris Tucker; (13-14) Jodiann Atienza, Danielle Ciraollo, Harty Dizinagraia, Matt Farkouh, Erin Finn, Lily Kemm, Anna Pelligra, Jimmy Sullivan and Chris Zadala. The 15-18 group includes Kevin Boettger, Catherine Sufficool and Conor Urbealis along with assistant coaches Harrison Cefalo, Keala Evans, Megan Foran, Megan Massa, Christel Murray and Erin O’Malley. Daria Cefalo, also serves as an assistant.last_img